In our fight to combat the worst of the Whitehouse Farm Development, a decent relationship with our local councillors seems a must. We are lucky in that Westgate straddles two wards: Chichester West for households to the North of the street and Chichester South for those on the south side. This gives us twice the number of councillors to draw on, including the Leader of the West Sussex County Council. We were very pleased that six councillors attended our recent AGM and made important contributions.

Who does what?

We all find it quite easy on days of high frustration to indulge in a bit of council-bashing, but remember these are ordinary citizens who have taken on the responsibility to represent our democratic interests.

The difficulty in addressing “The Council” of course in this City (and in many others) is that we have four levels of government to deal with, all with varying levels of responsibility: the Chichester City Council (the parish council); the Chichester District Council; the West Sussex County Council; and not forgetting our local MP in Westminster and the national government and its agencies. It can also be confusing that several councillors sit on both the City and the District Councils.

If you want to know who is responsible for what, then this website gives you the full breakdown.

Who’s who?

To help you find your way around the maze of our local representatives, here is the full list of Councillors in our wards since May 2015, including those who sit on two of these bodies:

1. CITY COUNCIL WARDS –

Chichester South

Nigel Galloway (C)
14 North Walls
Chichester
PO19 1DA
Tel No : 01243 780652
Email: N.Galloway@chichestercity.gov.uk

Roger Keyworth (C)
19 Brampton Court
Stockbridge Road
Chichester
PO19 8PD
Tel No : 01243 839994
Email : R.Keyworth@chichestercity.gov.uk

Anne Scicluna (LD)
40 Adelaide Road
Chichester
PO19 7NF
Tel No : 01243 789065
Email : A.Scicluna@chichestercity.gov.uk

Sarah Sharp (G)
13 Whyke Lane
Chichester
PO19 7UR
Tel No : 01243 790077
Email : S.Sharp@chichestercity.gov.uk

Trevor Tupper (C)
64 Brampton Court
Stockbridge Road
ChichesterPO19 8PD
Tel No : 01243 788028
Email : T.Tupper@chichestercity.gov.uk

Chichester West

Clare Apel (LD)
123 Cedar Drive
Chichester
PO19 3EL
Tel No : 01243 783738
Email : C.Apel@chichestercity.gov.uk

Martyn Bell (C)
4 Tagalie Square
Worthing
BN13 1FH
Tel No : 01903 530700
Email : M.Bell@chichestercity.gov.uk

Philippa Budge (C)
18 Wells Crescent
Chichester
PO19 5EU
Tel No : 01243 780121
Email : PM.Budge@chichestercity.gov.uk

Julian Joy (LD)
St John’s House
St John’s Street
Chichester
PO19 1UU
Tel No : 07789 170015
Email : J.Joy@chichestercity.gov.uk

Richard Plowman (LD)
113 Worcester Road
Chichester
PO19 5EE
Tel No: 01243 787663
Email : R.Plowman@chichestercity.gov.uk

2. DISTRICT COUNCIL WARDS

Chichester South

Mrs Pam M Dignum, (C)
Highgate House
West Broyle Drive
Chichester
West Sussex
PO19 3PP
Phone: 01243 538585
Email: pdignum@chichester.gov.uk

Mr Nigel G Galloway, (C)
14 North Walls
Chichester
West Sussex
PO19 1DA
Phone: 01243 780652
email: ngalloway@chichester.gov.uk

Mr Len J Macey, (C)
44 Grenville Gardens
Chichester
West Sussex
PO19 8XB
Phone: 01243 786297
email: lmacey@chichester.gov.uk

Chichester West

Mrs Clare M M Apel, (LD)
123 Cedar Drive
Chichester
West Sussex
PO19 3EL
Phone: 01243 783738
email: capel@chichester.gov.uk

Richard E Plowman, (LD)
113 Worcester Road
Chichester
West Sussex
PO19 5EE
Phone: 01243 787663
email: rplowman@chichester.gov.uk

WEST SUSSEX COUNTY COUNCIL

Chichester West

Ms Louise Goldsmith (C)
Email: louise.goldsmith@westsussex.gov.uk
Cabinet Office 033 022 23742
Address: Corner Cottage, Shipton Green, Itchenor, Chichester, PO20 7BZ

Chichester South

Mrs Margaret Evans (C)
Email: margaret.evans@westsussex.gov.uk
Phone: 01243 773074
Mobile: 07780 905639
Address: 32 Plainwood Close, Chichester, PO19 5YB

WESTMINSTER

Chichester

Andrew Tyrie MP (C) since 1997

If you are a constituent and would like to contact Andrew you can use the following contact details:

The Rt Hon Andrew Tyrie MP
House of Commons
London
SW1A 0AA
Email: andrew.tyrie.mp@parliament.uk
Telephone: 0207 219 6371

When contacting Andrew please make sure you include your full postal address.

 

Categories: Your Councils

Colin Hicks

Webmaster, Westgate Residents' Association Chichester

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

error: Content is protected !!